Our Shining Stars of 2018!

Celebrations at the Care South Stars Awards 2018

On Thursday 5 July we celebrated the outstanding achievements of our staff at our annual Stars Awards ceremony which took place at AFC Bournemouth’s Vitality Stadium.

Now in its eighth year, the Stars Awards recognise and reward members of staff from across Care South for their outstanding achievements and excellent care provision. With 15 categories, the awards cover everything from ‘Best Care Newcomer’, ‘Home Carer of the Year’ and ‘Manager of the Year’, to ‘Best Activities Programme’, ‘Best Care Support Team’, and ‘Home of the Year’.

Care South staff and invited guests enjoyed a celebratory atmosphere at the Vitality Stadium, with the event compèred by Chairman, Felicity Irwin DL and the certificates presented by AFC Bournemouth Chairman, Jeff Mostyn.

As part of the ceremony, staff were introduced to Biscuit – a robotic therapy dog, and given a demonstration of how he interacts with residents and the benefits that he offers, especially to residents with dementia. To their surprise and delight, all homes were presented with their very own robotic therapy dog to use with their residents – puppies galore!

After the awards, staff were treated to a delicious buffet lunch and a trip pitch-side for a group photograph in the stadium… alongside the opportunity to snap a quick selfie with Jeff Mostyn!

Staff training and continued professional development are also an important part of the culture at Care South, and the awards provided the ideal opportunity to celebrate the achievements of staff across many disciplines.

Over the last year, more than 30 staff members achieved qualifications in Diplomas, including Health and Social Care, Food Production and Cookery, Business and Administration, Computerised and Manual Bookkeeping, Education and Training and Strategic Management and Leadership.
A big well done to all of this year’s winners and finalists!